Third Offense DUIs in California
Third offense DUIs are treated more severely than first offenses and second offenses under California law. Besides the jail time, fines and fees from the first and second offenses, the third offense penalties are very severe. With such life-altering penalties for a conviction, a third DUI charge needs to be taken to trial. There is no benefit to a no contest or guilty plea. If you are accused of a DUI, especially a third or greater offense, call my office now. I am recognized by the California DUI Lawyers Association and The National College for DUI Defense as a DUI specialist. Few attorneys have the extra training and experience needed to successfully represent you in court.
Third DUI DMV Penalties
California Vehicle Code 13352.(a)(5)
…the privilege shall be revoked for a period of three years. The privilege shall not be reinstated until the person files proof of financial responsibility and gives proof satisfactory to the department of successful completion of one of the following programs: an 18-month driving-under-the-influence program…
All DUIs can carry the penalty of license suspension, each suspension longer than the previous one. Third DUI license suspensions generally start at three years. Like the previous offenses, the license will remain suspended until the offender completes a third DUI education program. This program is longer than the previous ones and usually has a bigger price tag. The offender must pay those costs out of pocket, often with a deposit up-front. Expect to pay upwards of a thousand dollars.
Third DUI Court Penalties
California Vehicle Code 23546.(a)
If a person is convicted of a violation of Section 23152 and the offense occurred within 10 years of two separate violations of Section 23103… that person shall be punished by imprisonment in the county jail for not less than 120 days nor more than one year and by a fine of not less than three hundred ninety dollars ($390) nor more than one thousand dollars ($1,000)…
(b) A person convicted of a violation of Section 23152 punishable under this section shall be designated as a habitual traffic offender for a period of three years, subsequent to the conviction. The person shall be advised of this designation pursuant to subdivision(b) of Section 13350.
The quoted section above shows the grave nature of a third DUI conviction. Employment will be a thing of the past after a third dui conviction. Besides the year without pay in jail, there is yet another thousand dollar fine. Three years without a license means three years of begging friends for rides, waiting at bus stops, or walking. Commuting to a high paying job or to work sites isn’t going to happen. To reinstate his or her license, the offender has to again pay for expensive DUI education and counseling. And when it’s over, there is still the crushing insurance prices for the next decade. A single DUI is little more than a warning. A third DUI is a harsh wake up call. With so much on the line you need a recognized DUI specialist by your side. Help is available. You don’t have to risk it all.
Call my office at 1-800-420-5667. We can fight this together!
DUI definitions: California Vehicle Code 23152
First DUI Penalties: California Vehicle Code 23536 – 23538
DMV DUI Penalties: California Vehicle Code 13352
DUI Classes and Counseling